Driver Charged with DWI After Accident Involving a Parked Car
Driving a motor vehicle is a privilege and huge responsibility for all those who share the road. Drivers have a duty to take utmost care, use their best judgment, and follow traffic laws that are designed to keep everyone safe.
Every state has laws put in place to protect drivers and pedestrians, including laws around intoxication. The Massachusetts law prohibits driving while intoxicated by either alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two. Massachusetts law prohibits non-commercial drivers aged 21 and plus from drinking alcohol and driving with a blood alcohol level (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more in your system. For drivers under the age of 21, under Massachusetts law, there’s a maximum BAC of .02 or higher. Drivers of commercial vehicles in Massachusetts are legally drunk when their BAC is .04 or greater.
In Massachusetts, there are Operating Under the Influence (OUI) laws which refer to the criminal act of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. For individuals injured in New England motor vehicle accidents who are victims of drunk driving, connecting with a good lawyer can be key to a successful lawsuit.
In a recent news report, New Hampshire police arrested and charged a person with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). The car accident caused a car to flip over in the area of 50 Central Street. An investigation determined that one car was traveling east when the car drifted off the travel portion of the roadway and struck a vehicle legally parked. The collision caused the moving vehicle to flip over onto the roof and caused significant damage to both cars. The vehicle that was initially moving ended up 25 yards away from where the parked car was struck. The driver was arrested and charged with DWI. At the scene, the driver was taken to the hospital with non-life threatening injuries.
Penalties for Driving While Impaired in Massachusetts
The penalties that a driver may face will differ depending on whether the driver is a first-time offender or not. Drunk drivers may face the suspension or loss of their license, possible jail time, and other consequences depending on various factors. A first-time offender in Massachusetts may face imprisonment for up to two years and a half years, a fine of $500 to $5,000, or both. In addition, first-time offenders face a driver’s license suspension period of 45 to 90 days. Ultimately, drivers who choose to drive while impaired will face consequences, and should therefore refrain from doing so.
However, for the victims of a DUI accident, a criminal case offers them little to no recourse. Victims looking to pursue a claim for damages in the wake of an accident can, however, file a personal injury lawsuit against the drunk driver.
Finding Help After an Accident In Massachusetts
If you or a loved one has been hurt or died in a Massachusetts car crash, you may be entitled to significant compensation for your loss. The experienced and dedicated New England personal injury and car accident lawyers with the Neumann Law Group have successfully won significant verdicts for our clients. If you have questions about a possible case, give us a call and discuss your case. The Neumann Law Group represents clients in many Massachusetts injury cases, including wrong-way accidents. Contact us today at 800-525-6386 to schedule a free consultation and discuss your case.